Program Development Life Cycle (PDLC)

The Program Development Life Cycle (PDLC) consists of the following stages:

  • Analyse the problem
    Analyse and define the problem, check and understand that the problem is clearly defined. What are the inputs /outputs, process steps, logic, rules and requirements.
  • Design the solution (program)
    Design the solution using tools such as flow charts and pseudo-code.
  • Code the program
    Use appropriate tooling e.g., such as an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) to code the program. Could use an approach such as Test Driven Development (TDD).
  • Test / Debug the program
    Find and correct errors. Check that logic / flow is as expected. Does the program function as specified? Does the program function as needed.
  • Formalise the solution
    Document the solution using comments with the program, and support documentation for users (i.e. those that won’t be looking at the code).
  • Maintain the program
    Continue to fix issues / bugs, update program with new features (starting at “Analyse the problem” for each one) and change program logic to meet business requirements as needed. Provide support to end users.